Faded Sapphire of Her Eyes – Stage 3

Strange how sometimes, you think you have it all worked out, quite a straightforward plan –  and then something gets into your head about altering the structure of the piece(just a little bit, I tell myself) don’t want to  take a chance with all those stitches and all that love!

But………..  This piece has a personal story to tell and it is a sad one. 

The proper title is really  ‘The Faded Sapphire of Her Eyes’. It relates to someone very precious to me.  I’ve taken quite a long time to approach this and to move forward with it. 

This is a slow cloth, in every sense of the word

I’ve been thinking  how complex we  human beings are, we possess such fragile layers but these can, at the same time, lay upon powerfully strong emotional foundations.   Such an emotive subject deserved more from me and I feel it isn’t there yet.

  Trouble is what happened next was purely instinctive, right at the moment I was about to ‘frame and fringe it'(or so I thought) I looked down at an awl had just received in the post for starting book-binding experiments and I suddenly realised that I could add more to this story, by taking something away, strange…………

Anyway, I told myself, it would give more depth to things, so I stabbed the poor piece with the little awl, and cut areas away.  What the hell was I doing? I thought, but it felt right and  the small missing pieces were representational of periods of sadness  which have to heal and mend.

 So, I had my answer –   the next stage was to heal and mend stitch by stitch.

This is where I’m up to and how long this will take until I feel ready to leave it be, I have no idea, but I will keep on until it feels right to me.

P1140990

6 Comments

  1. To us, who don’t know the story, the piece is just beautiful as it is. To the creator, it has a lot of meaning and as you say, it has to feel right.
    Holes that are stitched together, open scars that are made to heal with needle and thread will help the emotional healing process. Maybe the opening up of holes is where you need to start, first tear up the inflamed memory, then heal it with balmy stitches.
    You say ‘we possess such fragile layers but these can, at the same time, lay upon powerfully strong emotional foundations’. I think that fragile layers are fragile and sensitive in few numbers. Layer, upon layer, upon layer will build up a strong total of layers. It’s like thread. Made of short fibres, when spun together, then twisted with other spun fibres, they eventually make a very strong rope.
    Thinking of you.
    Queenie

  2. The missing pieces add to the stillness of your piece and I always listen to instinct,she knows best.
    The wound is the place where the light enters you……….Rumi

Leave a Reply

