I admit, I’ve slipped up – but it feels right!

slip in place

Puzzling over just how to finish edges on Faded Sapphires  I needed to have the design broken up as it travels downward, it was a start with the reverse applique, and I wanted the bottom edge to be less substantial than the main body of the piece.

Answer, good old fusing and cutting(Thank you, Margaret 🙂  Then, the next problem of using the organza.   Even in 2 layers I knew it wouldn’t be substantial enough to attach to the main section and if I attached the traditional style of interfacing it would not be fun burning it(stinks to high heaven).

Yahoo!  Found some Evelon which is suitable and away I went!

Pleased with the look of this and I can integrate with some stitching and may need to look at the bottom right corner for more  cutwork. (Please note the black areas are not really black, just the light playing tricks with this fabric)

Now I have the sides sorted out, there is just the matter of the top and trying more leaf placement.

I want to try to be ‘simpatico’ with the slip base, but don’t want to overpower the main focus.  Should I use loops behind plain top/ add small slip leaves  applique two small Sprays over the tabs???

The bottom right corner needs more disintegration – holes/reverse applique/ eyelets?

The little grey cells are SO enjoying this exercise :}

2 Comments

  1. Hello Barbara, we’ve met on Stitchin’ Fingers and I’m pleased to discover your blog. I love this piece and the latest one you’ve just posted. One of my goals this year is to study whitework and this strikes me that it would look stunning in all white. It’s amazing, the more I look at it, the more I see. Beautiful work.

Leave a Reply

